Horror Chat Horror Thesis - Help Wanted!

Strangerbyday

Premium Supporter
Jun 4, 2015
Ireland
Hi Ninjas!

I'm a final year university student studying TV & Media. I'm in the processes of planning my thesis & have (almost) settled on the topic "How Women Are Presented Within The Sub-Genre's of Horror".

I was wondering if my fellow board members here could offer some suggestions for horror movies with strong female characters, or, alternatively, movies where women are not portrayed very well.
I know this is a bit of a broad question, but in the interest of trying to narrow things down, I'm focusing specifically on english language movies from the time period of 1970 to present. (Again, I know thats a bit broad.)

Also, I'm looking for any books, essays or articles on the topic that ye can share with me.

Any advice or suggestions ye can give would be much appreciated!

Attachments

• moonlight-703554_960_720.jpg
    moonlight-703554_960_720.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 94
starters for 10

Halloween
Friday the 13th
A Nightmare on Elm Street
Hellraiser

all of those have strong female leads

Hellraiser 2 better lead with Isobel

Sundown Vampire In Retreat

ALIEN Series Ripley ,

Terminator Sarha Conner .

Misery ohh how un nerving is Annie Wilkes .

Silence Of The Lambs Clarice Starling .

Nightbreed Lorri is a real good one .

Plenty of bimbos ohh being cased by an axe murderer run into this house. Ohh he lives here

Texas Chainsaw Massicare

Nightmare On Elm Street Heather Langencamp known more for her scream than performance .

Bram Stoker's Dacula ohh I'm female swoon .

Hang on @nefilim @C.C. 95 @wyatt03 @Noodles @PunkNinja @Steelselecta @luke98

Any ideas gang we have A Ninja who needs a degree . THANK YOU AND LOVE YOU IN ADVANCE GUYS :kiss: :kiss: .

And you want another movie, I spit on your grave, original and remake. What the main lead goes through is harrowing, but her revenge is ...... well, you will have to watch it to find out!!

Reactions: nefilim