PRETTY LITTLE LIARS: The Complete Fourth Season DVD Review


The Pretty Little Liars are Spencer, Hanna, Aria, and Emily. Their friend Alison disappeared and now their secrets and skeletons in the closet may be exposed by someone named “A”, so the girls work frantically to figure out the mystery before things get worse.


The show is based on a series of young adult novels by Sara Shepard and is aired on ABC Family. Like the books, the show is targeted towards teenagers and younger people with a classic “who done it” mystery style. The formula for the show is to basically reveal or hint at another secret that could come out, so this person does that or that person does this. It does keep things interesting, but I feel like at times the show is hard to follow. There is so much happening at once between the characters and with that, it’s good they have the previous episode recap on each episode.

Troian Bellisario as Spencer Hastings
Ashley Benson as Hanna Marin
Lucy Hale as Aria Montgomery
Shay Mitchell as Emily Fields
Laura Leighton as Ashley Marin

pretty little liars s2 dvd 04

For a DVD, the picture looks pretty good. You can tell that it’s from a digital source and compressed for the release. The contrasting keeps the lines separate without too much EE which creates some nice blacks. The only issue is the compression rate adds crushing and pixilation. One of the cleanest scenes in the entire season is during a swim meet. The pool is clear and a natural blue with minimal issues. Overall, it’s not too shabby at all.


The audio mix has some strong points like the video. There is good ambient sound that is fairly steady between all of the speakers. The highs are crisp, but the LFEs are heavy and not in a bad way. The bass really pumps up the drama scenes and is present when it needs to be. Also, the sound effects are clean and prominent.


The extras on the release are about average. They do have some good information, especially for fans of the series.

Bonus Features:
-Unhooding Red Coat: Alison is Alive!
-Confessions of “A” Liar
-Pretty Little Scenes
-Bonus Recap Episodes
-Unaired Scenes

Episode List
1. “‘A’ is for A-l-i-v-e”
2. “Turn of the Shoe”
3. “Cat’s Cradle”
4. “Face Time”
5. “Gamma Zeta Die!”
6. “Under the Gun”
7. “Crash and Burn, Girl!”
8. “The Guilty Girl’s Handbook”
9. “Into the Deep”
10. “The Mirror Has Three Faces”
11. “Bring Down the Hoe”
12. “Now You See Me, Now You Don’t
13. “Grave New World”
14. “Who’s in the Box?”
15. “Love ShAck, Baby”
16. “Close Encounters”
17. “Bite Your Tongue”
18. “Hot for Teacher”
19. “Shadow Play”
20. “Free Fall”
21. “She’s Come Undone”
22. “Cover for Me”
23. “Unbridled”
24. “A is for Answers”


Disc Details
4 DVD Set

Edition Ratings
Not Rated

Region Coding
Region 1 DVD

Audio Mixes
English Dolby Digital 5.1



The DVD release of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS is an overall success. Like I said before, the video looks great for being DVD and I have to think it’s because the season was authored from a digital source. The sound has also been mixed well and the extras are pretty good. I would recommend picking this up for both fans or if you’re curious about the show.

Order your copy from Amazon

Pretty little liars s4 dvd cover

About the author

MEDIA JOURNALIST | Michael is a fanatic about all both cinema old and new. He collects anything from 1:6 Scale, 1:12 Scale, and vinyl Collectibles plus Slipcovers and Steelbooks. He loves pop culture, writing, reviewing films & collectibles, and journalism. An avid Batman, The Joker and anything comics junkie, he will also chat it up about pretty much anything. Go ahead and ask...