How do I take better pictures? - calling photographer expert - Post pics!

MayFlower

Premium Supporter
Sep 28, 2011
I'm using a Canon T2i with a 28-135mm lense.

I set it to AV mode, F5.0, ISO 400, white balance at Daylight.

My background is not pure white :( How do I get it white?

I changed it to Tungsten Light and White Fluorescent Light, but those colors were way off.

Any step-by-step recommendation?

As you can see, I use a small white enclosure with lights on the right and left side.

img2128pp.jpg

img2129h.jpg

Your photos already look good to me! I would just try with all the different white balance settings, see if you can get something nearer white.

I tried all of them :( I thought Daylight was white when I took them and it looks pinkish after I view them on my computer. I used a white cloth..and it's not near white after the picture. the steelbook is the actual color...but when I change different white balance option, it change the steelbook color :(

When I use Auto mode, it looks white...but I'm not able to focus in auto mode :(

That seems strange that it won't focus in auto, even on macro? I had an issue with a camera where i couldn't take anything white without getting a pink tinge. They said the filter was broken. Maybe its an issue on the camera?

oh man, this sucks.

it does focus, but it focus right in the middle and I want it to focus on the face at an edge or somewhere else.

That seems strange that it won't focus in auto, even on macro? I had an issue with a camera where i couldn't take anything white without getting a pink tinge. They said the filter was broken. Maybe its an issue on the camera?

---------- Post added at 04:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:54 PM ----------

I decided to remove the white cloth and use black cloth...and change the ISO from 400 to 6400.

I like this photo better, but I still want to learn more about the white balance..maybe it was halogen light on the left and right side causing the pinkish tone.