The "OMG the price is high on Ebay, etc!!!" thread

What is your spending limit for Steelbooks?

  • I plead the 5th!

    Votes: 14 2.6%
  • Under $100 for sealed "Rare" Steelbook

    Votes: 145 26.7%
  • Under $50 for any Steelbook

    Votes: 139 25.6%
  • Over $100 for sealed, "Rare" Steelbook

    Votes: 71 13.1%
  • I'll spend ANY amount to get a missing Steelbook for my collection!

    Votes: 26 4.8%
  • It depends on the Steelbook-I decide at the time of purchase

    Votes: 199 36.6%

  • Total voters
    543

digitalbabe

Premium Supporter
Apr 12, 2009
42,351
USA
So, we have the "Fake" and "Steelbook Price Drop" thread, but we don't yet have the thread where you post listings with "crazy" prices for Steelbooks. If you see any, post them here and have fun debating. As per forum rules, please remain respectful with each other-one person's "high price", could be another's "deal of a lifetime" score. Enjoy! :scat:

Please keep discussion to Ebay and other retailers, not private sellers.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fr...steelbooks.TRS0.TSS0&_nkw=steelbooks&_sacat=0 steelbooks

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=steelbooks&_sacat=0 steelbooks UK
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Anyone recognise this seller?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gladiator...t=UK_CDsDVDs_DVDs_DVDs_GL&hash=item19daf13a6c

They've been putting grails on sale (which have been selling, T2 JP V2.0, Rambo, TDK FNAC), but using stock photos. Now they are lifting pics from Google and even admitting it. :angry:

Check out the description for Gladiator on the above link?

"PLEASE NOTE: This didn't come to me sealed but I have had it resealed by a sealing machine - so this picture is for demonstration purposes only to show you what it looks like as I refuse to unseal mine."

Scammer alert?
 
Anyone recognise this seller?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gladiator...t=UK_CDsDVDs_DVDs_DVDs_GL&hash=item19daf13a6c

They've been putting grails on sale (which have been selling, T2 JP V2.0, Rambo, TDK FNAC), but using stock photos. Now they are lifting pics from Google and even admitting it. :angry:

Check out the description for Gladiator on the above link?

"PLEASE NOTE: This didn't come to me sealed but I have had it resealed by a sealing machine - so this picture is for demonstration purposes only to show you what it looks like as I refuse to unseal mine."

Scammer alert?


That's Igans316's photo...I recognise the bedspread :naughty:

Same seller has no taste, check the purchases EEK!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/230855186111
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/170981503238
 
That's Igans316's photo...I recognise the bedspread :naughty:

Is that whose it was? I thought I'd seen that somewhere before. :hilarious:

The cheeky f**ker has done a snip job from his photo:

Gladiator_TW_1.JPG
 
I have to say igan316's bedsheet doesn't suit my taste, but it saved the day! I am quite relieved the seller turned down my reasonable offer for his/her TDK FNAC now...
 
Even with all of the above all the others listed have been sold fairly quickly.

They are grail steelbooks. A lot of people won't question it. The seller may be genuine, but it's a bit off and doesn't compute.

Check out the description on their IM FS:

*This is my second and absolute last copy of this*

Brand new and sealed copy of Iron Man, its never been opened and its sat on a shelf since I got it so its time to clear some titles out. Serious buyers only please!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Iron-Man-...t=UK_CDsDVDs_DVDs_DVDs_GL&hash=item19daf116a8

Again they are using another lifted photo of it from web.

We are the Ebay detectives. :D

I just hope that the buyers of these and previous sales aren't getting scammed.
 
i'll let you know as i am one of the buyers EEK! so i will find out very soon!! The comms with seller has been excellent so far. Like the rest of you i was VERY unsure about the item, the old adage "if it looks too good to be true....." We will soon see! I bought the T2 v2.0, is there anything obvious to look out for to see if it's genuine? I would hope that if i can prove it's a fake i'll get some sort of cover from ebay/payal/cc!!
 
i'll let you know as i am one of the buyers EEK! so i will find out very soon!! The comms with seller has been excellent so far. Like the rest of you i was VERY unsure about the item, the old adage "if it looks too good to be true....." We will soon see! I bought the T2 v2.0, is there anything obvious to look out for to see if it's genuine? I would hope that if i can prove it's a fake i'll get some sort of cover from ebay/payal/cc!!

You are a very brave man. EEK!

Did you ask to see actual pics before paying?
 
never have your cc handy when you've had a few/lots of beer- god knows what you will end up with!! i bought unseen other than the pics that were on the item listing :ohno: EEK!